WELCOME!

WELCOME! This blog is a personal project I started in August 2011 with the goal of drawing and posting an illustrated status message a day - I haven't stopped since. On weekday mornings, I get up, draw a cartoon, and post whatever I can manage to before going to work. I began cartooning to find my voice. Still searching, but I've learned that the attempt is everything. What's your status message today?

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Monday, July 28, 2014

Making Man Comics

Look who I saw at Broadway Diner...
More at joshbayer.com


Thursday, July 17, 2014

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Finding Balance

I brought back a big bruise on my butt. Maybe exactly what I needed.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

One Size Fits All

I fought and lost a battle with an oversized blue poncho.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Van Gogh's Bedroom

I've always wanted to do that. :)

Quote source: Vincent, in a letter to brother Theo.

Color version:



Friday, July 11, 2014

My View of the Potato Eaters

Back from Holland! Travelogue cartoons to come...

In the meantime, this is my jetlag cartoon and, alstublieft, a page from my sketchbook:

Thursday, July 03, 2014

Taking a Break

Taking a short break to attend a conference in the Netherlands.

Bringing my sketchbook; leaving my elephant. ;)

Updates when I return. Have a great week and thanks for reading, everyone!


Watercolor sketch, 2014

Tuesday, July 01, 2014

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Monday, June 16, 2014

Friday, June 13, 2014

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Monday, June 09, 2014

Creative Rut

Thanks to all the fun, creative people who let me hang out with them this weekend :)

Friday, June 06, 2014

Looking For Something Lost

Did not feel like I had it in me to cartoon today. Distracted. But I tried anyway.

Plus, it's Friday, so all is not lost :)

Wednesday, June 04, 2014

Underrated Superpower

Computer crapped out. Quick pic comics until fixed!

Also: Reading comics at Robert Sikoryak's Carousel event tonight at 7:30! Info here: https://www.facebook.com/events/595049667259985/

Friday, May 30, 2014

Low Expectations, Happy Life

Never been happier :)

- - - - -
Update: I'm doing a short comics reading reading next week! Holy cow, look at the line-up. Mostly, I'm just honored to be part of it. Come hang out!

CAROUSEL hosted by R. Sikoryak!
Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 7:30 pm
Dixon Place, NYC
Tickets: https://www.facebook.com/events/595049667259985