WELCOME!

WELCOME! This blog is a personal project I started in August 2011 with the goal of drawing and posting an illustrated status message a day - I haven't stopped since. On weekday mornings, I get up, draw a cartoon, and post whatever I can manage to before going to work. I began cartooning to find my voice. Still searching, but I've learned that the attempt is everything. What's your status message today?

Friday, April 18, 2014

Society Calls the Shots

Happy Friday!

Reminder: I'm doing a comics reading at Robyn Chapman's annual Easter Sunday KGB Comix Night - come by for a super chill evening with a super sweet line-up of cartoonists :)

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Monday, April 14, 2014

Leggings No More

Amirite, ladies, amirite??

(Idea sketch, courtesy of cartoonist Justin Green - thanks!)

Update: I'm doing a comics reading at Robyn Chapman's annual Easter Sunday KGB Comix Night - come by for a super chill evening with a super sweet line-up of cartoonists :)

Friday, April 11, 2014

Private Pea Joke

I overheard two coworkers talking. We're all just glad it's Friday.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Wednesday, April 09, 2014

Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Monday, April 07, 2014

Imposter Syndrome

I figure...if you feel a little bit unworthy, then you're probably doin' it right. ;)

Update: Thanks to everyone who made it out to MoCCA Arts Fest over the weekend and all the amazing cartoonists and comics lovers who inspire me daily!

Heart full of joy. Thank you :)

Friday, April 04, 2014

Okay I'm Gonna Try

It's this weekend! It's in NYC! It's going to be SO MANY CARTOONISTS in one place!



Thursday, April 03, 2014

Connie Wonnie Color Prints

So jazzed about MoCCA Arts Fest this weekend! Come check it out if you're in NYC! I'll be at C27.

I made mini comics and prints for the show and am excited to show you a peek at what I've been working on.

If you can't make it to MoCCA Fest this time, but would like to purchase a print, I'll be setting up an online store later this month. Thanks for reading - and stay tuned!

(click on images to enlarge)
11x17 color prints

8.5x11 color prints

Open Heart Armor

As hip as armor is - do you ever get tired of putting it on?

Wednesday, April 02, 2014

Tuesday, April 01, 2014

Deadline Demons

I will not...be defeated.

Update: MoCCA Fest 2014 is this weekend, April 5 & 6! My coordinates: C27 - come say hi!

Progress: getting there. Previews below!


Monday, March 31, 2014

Elephant Moderation

It happens to all of us - but remember elephant moderation. :)

Friday, March 28, 2014

The Good Life

Absolutely nothing going on up there...happy Friday!

Monday, March 24, 2014

Even Introverts

When left to my own devices, I get real meta. 

(In news, I'm preparing for MoCCA Arts Fest April 5&6! Stay tuned!)

Friday, March 21, 2014

Monday, March 17, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Monday, March 10, 2014

Friday, March 07, 2014

God Bless This Duck

...and Fridays!

Sharing some sketchbook pages to usher in the weekend. Have a great one.

Wednesday, March 05, 2014

Al Jaffee at Columbia

"Cartooning itself is a form of communication." - Al Jaffee speaking at Columbia University yesterday, March 4, 2014.

Special thanks to Karen Green for her love of and dedication to comics and to the esteemed guests Peter Kuper and Sam Viviano in conversation with Paul Levitz. Inspiring evening with Comics at Columbia!

Tuesday, March 04, 2014

Friday, February 28, 2014

You Know What You Have To Do

A principle in negotiation: Know your BATNA, or "best alternative to a negotiated agreement."

Happy Friday :)

Thursday, February 27, 2014

The Indifference of Ponies

I learned at age 7 that I'm allergic to ponies. It's a difficult relationship.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Monday, February 24, 2014

To Be A Protagonist

Inspired by the 2nd Annual Muslim Protagonist Symposium held at Columbia University on Feb. 22, 2014. Kudos and congrats to the organizers for a fantastic event!