WELCOME!

WELCOME! This blog is a personal project I started in August 2011 with the goal of drawing and posting an illustrated status message a day - I haven't stopped since. On weekday mornings, I get up, draw a cartoon, and post whatever I can manage to before going to work. I began cartooning to find my voice. Still searching, but I've learned that the attempt is everything. What's your status message today?

Friday, October 31, 2014

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Monday, October 27, 2014

Friday, October 24, 2014

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Reality Pancakes

Still damn tasty.

Update: Excited to share that my comics column debuts today on McSweeney's! Stay tuned for the first installment of "How to Find Love: Lessons from an Old Maid."

Link: http://www.mcsweeneys.net/articles/being-single-doesnt-kill-you-and-other-advice-for-creatives

Monday, October 13, 2014

When Galaxies Collide

Friendship: a poem :)

Sometimes I can't believe how lucky I am to know the people I do.

Tuesday, October 07, 2014

Monday, October 06, 2014

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

It's Complicated

FUN NEWS: My idea for a comic strip column was picked up by McSweeney's!
It will be about the creative process and is called "How to Find Love: Lessons from an Old Maid." This is either an amazing opportunity or I've made a terrible mistake.  Huge thanks to McSweeney's for the honor & congrats to fellow contest winners!
---
Today's Strip: Cartoonists give realistic advice, unfettered by optimism. ;)

Monday, September 29, 2014

Friday, September 26, 2014

The Thing About Passion

This is less a comic strip and more a note to self. Also: have not figured out how to draw Mike Rowe.

Happy Friday :)

Monday, September 22, 2014

The Other Side of Discomfort

I have a terrible sense of direction, but eventually I find my way :)

Friday, September 19, 2014

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Oh Rejection My Old Friend

"I've come to talk with you again..."


(Out of time to scan - process shot!)

Monday, September 15, 2014

A Cartoonist's Joy

Still processing the joy ;)

Thanks to everyone who made all the SPX magic happen...

Friday, September 12, 2014

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Looks Aren't Everything

Ta-da: color version


(Ran out of time to scan and color, but here's a process shot!)

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Monday, September 08, 2014

Full Moon Cake

Color didn't come out like I hoped, but happy Mid-Autumn Festival, everyone!