WELCOME!

WELCOME! This blog is a personal project I started in August 2011 with the goal of drawing and posting an illustrated status message a day - I haven't stopped since. On weekday mornings, I get up, draw a cartoon, and post whatever I can manage to before going to work. I began cartooning to find my voice. Still searching, but I've learned that the attempt is everything. What's your status message today?

Thursday, January 31, 2013

A Lifetime of Social Conditioning

Ran out of time to color, but the sloppiness befits the stupidity of my thoughts.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Friday, January 25, 2013

Emotional Range in Early Adulthood

I may have more white hair and slower metabolism, but believe it when I say that I am thankful everyday to have survived the hellish grip of youth ;)

It gets better, it really does :)

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Big Sister, Little Brother

Dear Little Brother: When you were born, I thought that you were a present from Mom and Dad and that I owned you. Now that you're grown, I guess I should relinquish proprietary rights.

But - you were the best present ever!

Happy berf-deee, lil brudder. Luff, ur big seester :)

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The Joy of Self-Awareness

Ignorance is bliss, but you get more brownie points for self-awareness.

And brownies have chocolate in them, so it evens out :)

Monday, January 21, 2013

Beyond Right and Wrong

For everyone who dreams of better.

"There is a field beyond right and wrong...I will meet you there." - Rumi

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Monday, January 14, 2013

Animal Sketches

I'm halfway through a new cartoon, so today, I can only manage to post some quick animal doodles from my sketchbook.

If you are not me, these will make no sense to you. But I had fun and that's all that matters :)

Friday, January 11, 2013

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Wednesday, January 09, 2013

Monday, January 07, 2013

Single Girl S.O.S.

For my friends, who always know just what to do in a crisis situation :)

Friday, January 04, 2013

Thursday, January 03, 2013

Keeping a Straight Face

It's harder than you think ;)

This one is for my friend, Rusty Zimmerman, a Brooklyn-based artist who is working on a series of oil portraits of his neighbors and friends. Honored to be included! Thanks, Rusty!

Tuesday, January 01, 2013

It's a New Year

Happy 2013 blessings to all, including the birds. May the new year bring good things. Keep your eyes open.

I labored over this drawing, only to decide that I like the fast, scribbly sketch a lot better. Well, live and learn. Including both below, drawn from this!