WELCOME!

WELCOME! This blog is a personal project I started in August 2011 with the goal of drawing and posting an illustrated status message a day - I haven't stopped since. On weekday mornings, I get up, draw a cartoon, and post whatever I can manage to before going to work. I began cartooning to find my voice. Still searching, but I've learned that the attempt is everything. What's your status message today?

Friday, August 31, 2012

Elephant Fridays

This summer, I visited a wildlife reserve in South Africa where there were 2 resident male elephants who would regularly go around and knock down trees together.

You know, to unwind on Fridays.

Happy long weekend.

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Monday, August 27, 2012

Fly Me to the Moon

A tribute to Neil Armstrong, first man on the moon.

By the time I was born, flying to the moon was no longer just a dream.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Serious Bun of Hair

Maybe it's time to get a haircut. Gotta love Trader Joe's though!

Here is the color version plus a few tweaks. (Including the unedited copy below.)




Wednesday, August 22, 2012

The Dating Pool #6

This one isn't going to win me any friends, but so be it ;)

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Speed Dating Questions

Just for fun. Speed dating questions with a shot of bitterness. I'm not there yet, but you never know ;) It's a tough crowd.

Monday, August 20, 2012

Friday, August 17, 2012

Single Girl, Friday Night

Ran out of time to color, but here is the line work. Color version to come. Maybe.

Don't judge. Single Girl can do anything she damn well pleases on Friday night. ANY-thing.
(Shout out to and all hail Stupendous Man.)

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Beautiful Place

This is one of those classic New York moments.

Lest you forget:

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

A Poor Sense of Direction

I don't have any idea where I'm going. Most of the time. But I tell myself I'll get there eventually.

It's a journey, after all.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Sketching Overseas

No cartoon today, but here are some sketches of recent travels...

As someone who is geographically-bound and directionally-challenged, cartooning has given me a reason to: 1) take the F train; and 2) go overseas to Brooklyn.

If you know me, you know it's almost a miracle to get me out of Manhattan. So hurray for personal victories.






































Monday, August 13, 2012

Friday, August 10, 2012

The Language of Siblings

You know how there are some people who just "get it" without you having to explain yourself?

That's what's awesome about siblings. (Luff ya, little bro!)

Thursday, August 09, 2012

Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Something On Your Head

Thinking too much. Pigeons are a bad sign. Go watch the Olympics!

Tuesday, August 07, 2012

Jo'berg Airport

This is an illustrated chronicle of my journey from JFK ✈ JNB  DUR last month. It is, more or less, straight from my sketchbook (colored in photoshop). Hopefully it's legible.

Monday, August 06, 2012

Cartoonist Safari

I'm not this creepy in real life...

But I do really, really want to meet other cartoonists :)

Friday, August 03, 2012

Thursday, August 02, 2012

Humans Ruin Everything

Elephants are highly intelligent creatures -- just sayin'.

This cartoon was inspired by this YouTube video posted by "Kerrydunne1" of an elephant crashing their pool party. It is awesome. I watched it no less than 5 times in a day.

Wednesday, August 01, 2012

Eagle Helmet

Travel diary: I keep thinking about this guy - an African black eagle I saw with a wingspan of 6 ft. - wearing a helmet and tethered to a bird post.