tag line

(An Illustrated Status Message a Day)

Monday, December 31, 2012

Friday, December 28, 2012

Bears Celebrate the New Year

Everybody's invited to the party!

Happy New Year blessings to you. Thanks for all the love :)

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Deep Philosophical Questions

A page from my sketchbook. Drawn from Tim Flach's mesmerizing photo portraits of animals. Check them out here, via Brainpickings.

Hope everyone had a great holiday :)

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Monday, December 24, 2012

We Are Nerds

I hella heart my friends ;) Some things get better with time.

Friday, December 21, 2012

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Asian Mom Unamused

Let it be known that my parents read my cartoons. Which are sometimes a little edgy.

Thanks for following, Mom and Dad, even if you don't think it's funny.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Make-up Styles for Various Moods

Make-up is fun, but I still wanna meet a guy who thinks I'm pretty with or without ;)

Monday, December 17, 2012

Friday, December 14, 2012

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Tired Bear Ruminates Life

When bears start questioning life, I think it's time to get some rest.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Holiday Wish List

I think we could all use some extra nap time this season.

Monday, December 10, 2012

Friday, December 07, 2012

One Way to Meet a Boy

For the record, I haven't resorted to this. But I haven't ruled it out either ;)

Thursday, December 06, 2012

Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Tuesday, December 04, 2012

Callous Panda

Apparently, pandas poop a lot. And some care more than others.

Monday, December 03, 2012

Friday, November 30, 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Winter Doldrums

-- be gone!

Bears are good to huddle with. But not too close.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Monday, November 26, 2012

What Weekends Are For

Sometimes you have to add a little panache where you can.

Hope everyone had a great holiday weekend :)

Saturday, November 24, 2012

New Yorker Thanksgiving

It's been a few years since I've spent a Thanksgiving in New York. And even on holidays, the city not for the faint of heart.

Friday, November 23, 2012

A Chinese-American Thanksgiving

When I was younger, I based my knowledge of American holidays on TV shows and Norman Rockwell paintings. Compromise was turkey fried rice and dumplings.

Didn't make it home this year, but I still made turkey fried rice. Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and lots of good eats.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

This Is Not An Asian

I saw the new Wachowski-Tykwer sci-fi film "Cloud Atlas" over the weekend. I enjoyed it, but laughed at all the wrong parts. The treachery of images is that we all see what we see. And sometimes, it's hilarious to see how we are seen.

Monday, November 19, 2012

Saturdays Are For Mulling

I didn't finish a new cartoon this morning, but here's a page from my sketchbook. I like to keep my Saturdays open for mulling.

Friday, November 16, 2012

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Monday, November 12, 2012

Sex is the New Coffee

Coffee and sex has always been interchangeable in this context, but call me old-fashioned.

Friday, November 09, 2012

A Note From Connie

UPDATE: I've been cartooning my heart out for over a year and, last week, I hit 300 illustrated posts. I just want to say thank you to everyone for reading, for coming along for the ride, and for all your messages of encouragement and support. I could not have sustained this labor of love (and madness) without you.

When I started, my biggest obstacle was myself. A year later, I'm happy to report that I'm onboard too :) I've learned so much in this year and, amazingly, I've found friends in the process. Without sarcasm or wit, let me just say a sincere thanks to all of you.

Oh yeah and - make no mistake - being single is fabulous ;)


Thursday, November 08, 2012

Surviving Fatherhood

A messy pencil sketch was all I could manage today, but memories are still sharp.

Happy November birthday, Dad! Thanks for not giving up on us!

Wednesday, November 07, 2012

Tuesday, November 06, 2012

Back In My Day...

Seriously, you should vote. If just so you can say this.

Today's cartoon is for all the super trouper citizens who waited in lines - who stuck it out - who found a way to vote. Rock.

Sunday, November 04, 2012

A Status Message a Day #117

An extra hour is better than one less.

Falling back versus leaping forward. No contest.

Friday, November 02, 2012

Forgoing Pleasantries

This is what happens if you take away my precious...

On a more serious note, it has been a dramatic week for the Eastern Seaboard. A lot of heroes out there.  Take care, friends.

Thursday, November 01, 2012

Things To Do During A Blackout

For the single ladies.  And my friends who are without electricity right now. Hang in there.  

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Hurricane Landings

Well wishes to those affected by yesterday's storm and big thanks to everyone working tirelessly around the clock to put the city back together again.

From my window, I could see birds clinging to the tops of trees, but first they had to land...

Monday, October 29, 2012

Hurricane Pick-up Lines

A second cartoon for the day, just for laughs. Pick-up line brilliantly conceived by my friend Ali Hawkins :)

When I started cartooning a year ago, I posted this one about how New Yorkers prepare for a hurricane.

Storm's a-brewin'. Stay safe, fellow East Coasters.

Mommy Aerialist

This one is for my friends Stacey and Pascal in South Africa -- who are due any minute now! Judging from the parents, I imagine the baby will have a few tricks up its sleeves :)

Friday, October 26, 2012

At Least It's Friday

As comedian Mike Birbiglia would say, my dreams are so much better than my life right now.

BUT as I would say --

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Speaking Voice Over Time

I think I may be getting more obnoxious with age, but at least I'm self-aware ;)