tag line

(An Illustrated Status Message a Day)

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

A Status Message a Day #54

It's a strange day when your parents become avid readers of your blog. Needless to say, traffic is up. So is feedback. (Thanks, Mom and Dad, for the support.)


Saturday, December 24, 2011

A Status Message a Day #53

It's a pretty awesome day when you go home with an armload of books from the library. Some things don't change. Am I an ă-dult, or am I an ă-dult?? #dork4life

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Overheard by Connie #5

Seen and heard at 59th and 11th: a dad just trying to make the pilgrimage home.

(Also kind of how I feel about color. It took me twice as long to do a sloppy job of it. So the jury's still out.)

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

What is Love?


Happy 100th post! This cartoon is inspired by a popular post on Bluecentric that made the Facebook rounds: What is Love? Some Really Smart Kids May Have the Answer

Monday, December 19, 2011

A Status Message a Day #52

The triumph of this cartoon is that I actually drew a background and added a splash of color. Neither are my strengths, but not letting that stop me.

Winter is making me think I need to sign up for gym membership again. Maybe. Let me "think" about it s'more.

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Dog Heroics

He thinks he's a hero. And really, he's not wrong :)

(I'm trying to learn how to color in Ps3. Clumsy so far. Which one do you like better?)

Saturday, December 17, 2011

A Status Message a Day #51

Waaay behind on these "daily" status messages, but it's a busy season. Oh-so-grateful to have internet back after a few nights without. If I had to choose between a lover and the internet...that would be a really tough call, is all I'm sayin'. It tells the best bedtime stories and never hogs the covers.

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

A Status Message a Day #50

This is a rehashing of a short strip I did earlier this year about the virtues of delaying gratification. I drew a final panel as a bookend to that thought and spliced the two together in photoshop.

As 2011 draws to a close, I've learned this: namely, that it's important to use a straight-edge when drawing panels :)

None the wiser in my personal life, but I'm getting more comfortable with a brush :) Happy holiday season, y'all.

Thursday, December 08, 2011

Tuesday, December 06, 2011

Overheard by Connie #3

Ohhh yeeaah...I remember being 25. Hipsters hadn't been invented yet.

Monday, December 05, 2011

Sunday, December 04, 2011

Overheard by Connie #2

Woman on the phone at a Starbucks on the UWS. Apparently, he's trailer trash with a yacht and no business selling pencils.

Saturday, December 03, 2011

A Status Message a Day #48

And we're back! Haven't been living up to posting regularly, but I hope to get back into a groove.

My problems kind of look like cute goblins. Except when I blow them up in my head.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Good Deal on Shampoo

Ah, home for the holidays...Moms don't mess around. Least of all, Asian ones.

Sunday, November 20, 2011

A Status Message a Day #46

Visiting my California roots. And I finally got access to a scanner! For those of you traveling, get home safe and don't forget your jetpacks.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Licking It Off Rocks

Traveling today; homeward bound. Here's one for the road: an old sketch from earlier this year. Huge fan of Carlin, but I didn't say I could draw him!

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Dogged Determination

No foolin' around -- this dog means business. I see him regularly in the park, sitting patiently at the base of a tree, while other dogs play. There's a squirrel hiding up there, he knows it.

Monday, November 14, 2011

Overheard by Connie #1

It's gonna be a busy week, but here's an old one from my sketchbook.  I'll try to keep posting.

Friday, November 11, 2011

The Light Bulb Type

This is one of my favorite Chinese idioms: 当电灯泡. I don't want to brag, but it's kind of a special talent. 

Wednesday, November 09, 2011

Maria Bamford on Hope

I didn't get to finish a status today; worked late. But here's an old scribble from my sketchbook. And if you don't know her, here's a short snippet of Maria Bamford awesomeness (00:47). She's one of my favorite stand-up comics.

Tuesday, November 08, 2011

Shoe Shopping Beats Online Dating

A hypothetical trip to the shoe store. This may have been funnier in my head. I'm experimenting with different formats and trying to find a sweet spot. (For real though, I'm done with online dating! Hmph!)

Monday, November 07, 2011

A Status Message a Day #44

Sheesh, EVERYbody's a critic...

This one didn't come out as funny as I had hoped.  Instead it makes me look a little crazy. Maybe it needs another panel?

Sunday, November 06, 2011

Constructive Criticism

Tough crowd, yo. Contrary to the impression you might get from the last panel, critiques are welcome ;)

Thursday, November 03, 2011

Wednesday, November 02, 2011

Tuesday, November 01, 2011

Monday, October 31, 2011

A Status Message a Day #40

With the colder weather, my body really wants to hibernate...

Thursday, October 27, 2011

A Status Message a Day #38

This is an old digital drawing I dug up from 2008. (Is that cheating?) Some things don't change.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

A Status Message a Day #37

When life gets crazy, I eat my sandwiches funny. #workinggirlhabits

Monday, October 24, 2011

Saturday, October 22, 2011

A Status Message a Day #35

As the song goes, twoo wuv will find you in the end...but be prepared to make a mess!

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Monday, October 17, 2011

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Measuring progress

A year ago I vowed to become an artist in practice, not just in theory.
Hay! I think I'm making some progress!  #feelingood

A Status Message a Day #30

iSurprise

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Monday, October 10, 2011

Thursday, October 06, 2011

A Status Message a Day #27

"There's no reason not to follow your dreams."

More than the products he created, I carry his words with me.